Article

A Riddle That Uncovers The Truth

So I recently came across this video ( I won’t tell the topic of it just yet ), and I found it absolutely amazing!

The video basically began with a riddle and showed different people answering it. It’s fun to see how different people interpret riddles differently, however that is NOT what I want for you to look at.

Here is the exact same riddle. I urge you to read the riddle as many times as you need to until you understand it. Also, I think ‘reading’ the riddle on your own will leave the answer completely UP TO YOU, not subconsciously affecting your thought process in any way.

The riddles goes as such:

A father is about to bring his son to a job interview, applying for a position at a large trading company in the city.

Just as they arrive at the company’s parking lot, the son’s phone rings.

He looks at his father who says, ‘Go ahead, answer it’.

The caller is the trading company’s CEO who says, ‘Good luck son, you’ve got this.’

The son ends the call and once again looks at his father who is still next to him in their car.

How is this possible?

Please, don’t move on any further until you have answered the question. Who do you think was the caller, and the person sitting next to him?


I hope that you are only reading this AFTER you have answered the riddle. So what was your answer? Comment down below!

A lot of you must have thought that son to have two fathers. Although that answer is completely plausible, in order follow the aim of the video, the answer is : the CEO was his mother.

Yes, it took me quite some time to get there, after going through possibilities of the CEO being his second father, his grandfather, and even after thinking that the man’s name could be ‘Son’!

What is surprising here is, this riddle was asked to a bunch of CEO’s, both women and men, and NONE of them thought about the CEO being a women/his mother. The fact that nobody could think that the CEO could be a women, and instantly associated a man with the high-post is indeed very astounding.

Although one may consider themselves to be un-biased and just, this riddle simply uncovers the truth. Here is the link of the video ( by Mindspace ) for your reference:

Check this video out! Yes, it was for women day, but it’s NEVER too late to appreciate anyone!

I hope you found this riddle as interesting as I did! Comment down below what you initially thought was the answer :))

6 thoughts on “A Riddle That Uncovers The Truth”

  1. Oh my god Ayushi! Yesterday,my brother came up to me and said”A son and his father got involved in a car crash,but when they reached the hospital,someone said”how is my son?” I’m not exactly sure this was the riddle,but something like that,and I couldn’t figure out that it was mother,and he told me it was and I like OH YEAH. But,I read your post,and I still couldn’t figure it out,that really really matches with what you say,about people’s ideology!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha what a coincidence! It literally took me so many tries to get the answer, but I got it it was like ‘How did I not think about that!’ And the weird thing is that this experiment was tried on a bunch of CEOS ( women and men both) and yet the no one associated women with the CEO!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment